Nevada governor names members of school safety task force

Gov. Brian Sandoval takes part in a meeting on school safety. (File photo: SBG)

Nevada Gov. Brian Sandoval has announced the members of the state's school safety task force.

The governor's office said in a statement Thursday that former state superintendent Dale Erquiaga, currently the president and CEO of Communities in Schools, will serve as the chairman of the task force.

Margarita Gamboa, principal of Sunrise Acres Elementary School in Las Vegas, will serve as a vice co-chair, along with state Assemblywoman Jill Tolles.

The current state superintendent, Steve Canavero, will be a member of the task force, along with Mike Barton, Clark County School District's chief student achievement officer.

"School safety is one of the highest priorities for my administration," Governor Brian Sandoval said. "I am very pleased by the caliber of individuals who have agreed to serve our state on this Task Force."

The full list of people named to the school safety task force:

Steve Canavero – State Superintendent of Public Instruction; Yvanna Cancela – Member of the Nevada State Senate; Jill Tolles – Member of the Nevada State Assembly; Mike Barton, Clark County School District Chief Academic Officer – Clark County School District Superintendent or his designee; Traci Davis, Washoe County School District Superintendent – Washoe County School District Superintendent or her designee; Dave Jensen, Humboldt County School District Superintendent – Rural Superintendent; Brianne M. Thoreson, Bishop Manogue Catholic High School Principal, Dr. Zachary Robbins, Cheyenne High School Principal, Margarita Gamboa, Sunrise Acres Elementary School Principal – Elementary or Secondary School Principal; Pat Hickey, Charter School Association of Nevada, Executive Director – Representative from the Charter School Association of Nevada; Bridget Peterson, President, Lyon County School District Board of Trustees – School Board Trustee; Pilar Biller, Damonte Ranch High School Art Teacher, Derek Krallman, Jerome D. Mack Middle School Teacher – Elementary or Secondary School Teacher; Katherine Loudon, Washoe County School District Counseling Coordinator, Katie A. Dockweiler, Clark County School District Nationally Certified School Psychologist – School Behavioral Health Care Professional or Social Worker; Leon Ravin, MD, Statewide Psychiatric Medical Director – Department of Health and Human Services Representative; James Ketsaa, Clark County School District Police Department Chief, Jason Trevino, Washoe County School District Police Department Chief – School Resource Officer or a member of law enforcement; Laura Hernandez, Clark County, Caryn Swobe, Washoe County – Parent; William Voy, Eighth Judicial District Court Judge – Expert or professional in the field of Juvenile Justice; Ashley Macias, Mojave High School – Student Representative to the State Board of Education; Della Frank, Clark County School District Indian Education Opportunities Program Project Facilitator, Jimmy Tarelo, Western High School JAG Student, Dale Erquiaga, Communities In Schools, National President and CEO – Anyone else deemed necessary by the Governor.
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off